History of our Scholarship Program

The Youth Achievers Award Program was established in 1977 by Deborah Collins Crawford. It later evolved into the Salute to Youth Program.  Youth are recognized for academic excellence, artistic development, school participation, athletic achievement, church participation, and/or civic participation.

San Antonio Links 2019 Scholarship Program


The 2019 Scholarship Program will provide up to eleven (11) $2,000 scholarships to deserving area high school students who are active in supporting their community.  Top candidates should demonstrate eagerness to achieve through knowledge by intending to pursue post-high school course of study at a college, university or other post-secondary educational institution.  Completed applications must be postmarked by March 16, 2019.  Scholarship award winners will be announced in March. Click on the following link to access, complete and print the 2019 Links Scholarship Application.

Congratulations to our 2018 Link Scholars

Alexander Brown, Christian Butler, Lauren Dones, Alexandria Garcia, Nia Jackson, J’Kory Johnson, Melanie Monet, Lauryn Taylor, Kyra Thomas and Tia Thomas


Links Scholars Award Ceremony held Saturday, April 28, 2018. Featured are Scholarship Award Winners.

Endowment and Scholarship Facts

The Links of San Antonio have already contributed $50,000 to establish the Links Endowed Scholarship Fund at St. Philip’s College. An additional $60,000 will soon be included in the funding of the endowment. We give scholarships yearly to St. Philip’s students from the interest earned from the endowment, approximately $4500 in 2015.
 Some of the accomplishments reached by our recipients include:
  • National Merit Scholar
  • 1st place vocalist in Scholastic Competition
  • Financial Vice President for a Junior Achievement Company
  • Member of the Society of Distinguished American High School Students
  • ROTC Company and Battalion Commander
  • Teen Advisory Group member for Drug and Crime Prevention
  • Energy Conservation Committee Member
  • High Teen Magazine panelist
  • 1st place winner in the Louisiana State Invitational (Talent Award)
  • Who’s Who Among High School Students
  • Freshman of the Year at Rice University
  • Student Council President
  • Civics Club President
  • Forensic League President
  • 1st place District Algebra II contest winner
  • Classical Pianist – superior rating
  • Trinity University
  • Girl Scouts Program “Wider Opportunities” leader
  • Latin Club President and more.